SSFH Header

The Undergraduate Dissertation Prize.

In 2006 the Society instituted three undergraduate prizes each year as part of its efforts to promote French history in universities. The prizes - one first prize of £300 and two supplementary prizes of £100 each - are awarded for the best final year undergraduate dissertation or extended research essay produced in a UK or Irish university in each academic year, concerning any aspect of French history, or any aspect of contemporary French Studies with a substantial historical dimension.

Work eligible for these prizes would normally be expected to exceed 7,000 words in length, though consideration will be given to pieces falling just short of this size. In 2006, the first year of the competition, there were 13 entries from 8 Higher Education Institutions (HEIs).

The winning dissertation is guaranteed publication on the Society's website, and might in addition be considered for publication in modified form in the Society's journal, French History (published by Oxford University Press). Those awarded one of the runner-up prizes would be considered for (though not guaranteed) publication on the website only.

Nominations for these prizes should be made ONLY by a recognised university or college of higher education, through the relevant Head of Department or Chair of Examiners covering this work. The dissertation should have been awarded first class marks. Each HEI may nominate up to three students. Students should NOT nominate themselves.

for these prizes should be forwarded, preferably in electronic form, to Dr. Andrew W M Smith:


Andrew W.M. Smith
Department of History and Politics 
University of Chichester
College Lane
West Sussex
PO19 6PE

Tel: (+44) (0) 1243 816499

Deadlines for this prize are listed on the Grants summary page:

Dissertation Prize Committee:

Professor Máire Cross (Newcastle),
Dr Laure Humbert (Manchester) and Prof. Glenn Richardson (St Mary's, Twickenham).

Decisions will be communicated to the winning candidates and their Higher Education Institution.

Past Winners:

2020: Sara Green (Leeds)

2019: Tim Fairbairn (Cambridge)

2018: Jack Dickens (Cambridge)

2017: Joanna Clarke (Cambridge)

2016: Alexander Harries (Oxford)

2015: Georgina Rose Whittingdon (Cambridge) and Katherine Bulteel (Cambridge)

2014: Craig Saunders (Edinburgh)

2012: Daniel Hully (Durham)

2011: Pierre Caquet (Cambridge)

2010: Adam Boukraa (Oxford)

2009: James Eastwood (Cambridge)

2008: (Joint Winners) David Henry Doyle (Trinity College Dublin) and Julia Gilham (Bristol)

2007: Katie Alloway (Durham)

2006: (Joint Winners) Charlotte Wink (Durham) and Bryony Palmer (Oxford)

For a more detailed list of previous winners, see the Previous Dissertation Prize Winners page.


Site Map

Follow SSFH on Twitter          SSFH Facebook         © 2012 The Society for the Study of French History. All Rights Reserved.